Local pizza delivery . . . and I do mean local!

OK, don’t kid yourself: we’re trying to eat local this month, but we’re certainly not doing it every meal, every day. Along with the Eat Local Challenge, May features a particularly rigorous work schedule for us; TWO Breakfast-on-the-Bridges events; and, of course, increasingly beautiful weather luring us out of doors to foolishness and free-wheeling fun. So, loath though I am to admit it, we’re not spending every evening working hard in the kitchen, brewing up homegrown leek soup.

Today, for example, we worked late and were uninspired to cook much of anything. I called our local pizza delivery place, Hot Lips Pizza, which advertises their sustainable practices and support of local farmers, and asked them for the most local pizza they had. The woman on the phone was very happy to inquire after every single ingredient.

They had a seasonal local pizza featuring Carlton Farms bacon and local spinach, along with roasted red peppers and mushrooms. The peppers were off the list, as they were from heaven knows where. Mushrooms were “local,” probably from Hood River. Hot Lips has a variety of sauces; this pizza comes standard with tomato sauce, but that’s not from here, not in May. Turns out they have a squash sauce made with local butternut squash and garlic. So I added that. What about cheese? The only local cheeses were Tillamook white cheddar and a goat chevre. I chose the chevre, ordered the pizza extra large, and am now going to pedal over on my bike to pick it up. Hot Lips normally delivers via electric car, but why add to PGE’s coffers any more than absolutely necessary? I’ll take the Christiania to ease carriage of the large, flat box.

Can you believe this town? Talking local with the pizza delivery place? Squash sauce? I love Portland.

This entry was posted in Eat Local Challenge 2006, Food., Restaurants.. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Local pizza delivery . . . and I do mean local!

  1. Brad W says:

    Hi! I’ve been reading your blog with interest for quite some time. I admire what you do. I am inspired to write by my wife, who when I read this entry to her asked as I finished, “What I want to know is, was the pizza any good?” So, was it?

    Brad W.
    Orem, Utah

  2. mary mcguire says:

    makes the whole eat local thing clearer to me. it is amazing about
    the pizza place. in MI it couln’t happen. m

  3. Patrick says:

    Hi Brad,

    I am pleased to report, the pizza was quite good. They gave us extra goat cheese, so the prominent flavors were the tangy richness of the goat cheese, the salty yumminess of the bacon (very thin-sliced, partly crispy, partly fatty), and the sweet-ish background of the squash sauce. I was impressed (and relieved, because we got a jumbo-sized pie!). Hot Lips made a commitment a few years back to source local products and to be the most sustainable pizza delivery company they could be. I have to say they’re doing a pretty great job.

    thanks for your comment,

    patrick

  4. Richard says:

    What is the “Christiania” you mention using to pick up the pizza by bike? I’d love to pick up the occasional pizza by bike in the evening, but I can’t think of a good way to ensure the pizza would be secure on my current bike.

    Too bad seattle doesn’t have a Hot Lips Pizza. :/

  5. Patrick says:

    Hi Richard,

    We have a Christiania cargo trike. It is a two-wheels-in-front trike designed for carrying kids. It has a large wooden carriage box that is handy for big things like nursery pots, kids, or large flat pizzas. See here for more information.

    I’ve carried medium-sized pizzas home on a standard rear rack. Just make sure the pizza box is not soggy or floppy. Or you could strap a small piece of plywood onto the rack for rigidity.

    There are also very sturdy front racks that provide flat support from CETMA in San Francisco

Leave a Reply

